Interview: Madison Woods

Name: Madison Woods

Author of: “Daddy’s Girl”

Age: 45, for a little longer.

Geographic Location: NW Arkansas, way off the beaten path

Original Hometown, if different: St. Amant, LA

Twitter: @madison_woods

Website: http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com

Past publications: Non-fiction on Ginseng in the Ozarks (Digging Roots, a Dying Legacy). Lots of blog posts between my fiction blog, listed above as the website, and my Rural Ozarks Musings at http://blog.ancientearthwisdom.com .

What’s your favorite H.P. Lovecraft story or other Mythos story? When I first heard about Cthulhurotica, I looked up Lovecraft. So that was my first introduction to his work. I am intrigued but haven’t found a favorite, yet. Monsters with personality are a strong interest of mine, though.

What comes to mind when you think “Lovecraft” + “Erotica”? Very twisted concepts, haha. And a touch of horror that my own mind is thinking of it.

How did you hear about Cthulhurotica? A while back I participated in #zinechat on Twitter with @JaymGates and some other magazine editors and writers of stories. I think it was there that I first saw it mentioned.

What inspired your story? Haha, surely something better left unsaid.

What music or movies helped you to write this story? Believe it or not, Pirates of the Caribbean, the monster-humanoid characters, had a huge influence on how I thought of my characters.

How many rewrites did you do before submitting? Hmmm. Not enough. I found a fairly significant error after hitting ‘send’, and thought surely that would be the death blow to my submission.

What is your favorite bit?

“Smartass. I didn’t say that. But she’d know I’d likely not directly disobey a summons from Daddy.”

8 thoughts on “Interview: Madison Woods

  1. Richard Baron

    The title of your story has me intrigued, i can’t wait to read what you have come up with. Oh, and it’s nice to hear im not the only one who has hit the submit button and then thought ‘Crikey’. Nice interview Madison.

  2. Pingback: Interview at Cthulhurotica http://cthulhurotica.com/ #Cthulhurotica « Madison Woods

  3. Monsters with personality are a strong interest of mine, though.
    Huge interest of mine too–now I’m all excited!

    It’s pretty cool that this was your intro to Lovecraft. Speaks to how he can draw you in quickly, doesn’t it? Can’t wait to see it.

  4. Leon West

    Hi, Roxann. I just read your story in Cthulhurotica. Very nice. Hot, short, and dirty, just the way I like them.

    My favorite lines are:
    “Using the more formal paternal title would stroke his tentacled ego. I knew his ways and open defiance was a straight ride to the pens, daughter or no.”

    Congratulation on the super cool and very squicky double entendre that made me laugh, while simultaneously making me feel both hot and repulsed.

    Good job.

    –Leon

Leave a comment